Alexandria Sheriff Awards and Promotes Staff at Annual Ceremony


Deputy Chief Veronica Mitchells last official day on the job was September 30, the same day as the Annual Ceremony of Employee Awards, Promotions and Deputy Sheriff Career Elevations.  It was a fitting place to honor an officer who had done so much for her agency and for the City of Alexandria.

A 1992 Alexandria Commission for Women Award winner, she was one of the highest-ranking African-Americans in Alexandria Public Safety.  Deputy Georgianna Howard said that Mitchell joined the Sheriffs Office on August 4, 1978, and spent her career as a teacher, a helper, a person who inspired loyalty in all those who worked for her. It was noted by Sheriff Dana Lawhorne that this public recognition honors her at her retirement with full honors and privileges.  I want to say how much she has meant to the agency and to me when I became Sheriff, Lawhorne said. We all miss her tremendously and wish her the best. It is a good and a sad day.

With Mayor Bill Euille, City Manager Jim Hartman, peers and family in attendance, the award winners were announced. They are:

– Esprit de Corps Award Deputy Treska Lytel

– Uniform & Physical Fitness Deputy Keawatin Carter

– Best Idea Lenora Murphy

– Life Saving Award – Deputy Roy Hobson

– Outstanding Performance Sworn Line Staff Award Deputy Marvia Anderson

– Outstanding Performance Sworn Supervisory Staff Award Lt. Brian Grenadier

– Outstanding Performance by Civilian Life Staff Award Andelyn Cerna

– Outstanding Performance by Civilian Supervisor Gladys Cox

– Contributions to the Sheriffs Office by an Employee of a City Agency or Organization or Contractor Jennifer Hastings, Virginia Department of Corrections

There were five Deputy Sheriff II Promotions: Cassandra Branch, Gerald Resseguie, Gregory Zedalis, Quentin Wade and Isidro Battle.
Elevated to Deputy Sheriff II: Cinie Bearden, Treska Lytle, Keawatin Carter, Arlene Vollin-Mason and James Velez.

Three Deputy Sheriff IV: William L. Morgan, Timothy Thorne and Troy Baynes.
The following are promoted to Sergeant: Brian DeSouza, Deborah Vaughan, Anthony Zygmunt, and Douglas Woehlke.

Promoted to Lieutenant are Shelbert Williams and Douglas Schuler.
Two civilian promotions were earned: DeSha Hall-Winstead, Senior Probation Officer and Devra DeFreitas, Systems Specialist.

Lawhorne thanked Captain James Robey, 2008 Valor Awards recipient for his 30 years of service. Robey is retiring this year.

Recognizing good work and dedication before peers and family is an opportunity not to be missed. In his remarks Mayor Euille was able to tell those in attendance that, We are blessed with two of the best public safety facilities in the country. Euille congratulated the award winners and those promoted, for your service and all you do as you continue the fine work of this exemplary department.