Eighth District Dems choose national convention delegates

Eighth District Dems choose national convention delegates

Nearly 400 energized Democratic delegates attended Virginias Eighth Congressional District Democratic Convention at Alexandrias Francis C. Middle School on May 17.
The Democrats heard why it’s important to elect a Democratic president in November from special guests Sen. Jim Webb (D-VA.), Rep. Jim Moran (D-8), Delegate Brian Moran (D-46) and Alexandria Mayor Bill Euille.  At the meeting the Democratic activists selected its National Delegates to represent the Eighth Congressional District Democrats at the Democratic National Convention slated for Denver, Col. in August.
With the large number of delegates, the convention went nearly three hours longer than anticipated,  convening at 10:00 am and closing at 4:40 pm. A spirited debate on rules and one resolution not only kept the delegates focused on national delegate selection but on the other business of the convention as well.
Delegates chosen to represent Democratic candidates Barack Obama and Hillary Clinton at the August convention in Denver are as follows:
Obama male Delegates:
Robert H. “Bob” Brink (Arlington County)
Charles “Keith” Lutman (Fairfax County, Lee District).
Obama female Delegates:
Cristina Chiappe (Fairfax County, Providence District),
Bridgit Donnelly (Arlington County);
Obama  male Alternate: Evan Day (Arlington County).
Clinton  male Delegate:
Paul C. Smedberg (City of Alexandria)
Clinton female Delegates:
Allida Black (Arlington County)
Hazel Rigby (City of Alexandria).
In addition to National Democratic Delegate selection, delegates chose one Presidential Elector: former Alexandria  Representative to the Virginia House of Delegates, the Honorable Marian Van Landingham, from Alexandria. 

On June 10 Democratic voters in the Eighth Congressional District will have an opportunity to vote in its Democratic Congressional primary election.  Voting will take place at normal polling places throughout the Eighth District.
For information about Virginias Eighth District Democratic Committee go to: http://www.va8thcddems.org .