Accountants Society celebrates 60 years


The Accountants Society of Virginia celebrated their 60th Anniversary at the English Inn in Charlottesville, Va., on June 12-14. This year’s Annual Meeting and Conference featured CPE programs in Ethics, Virginia State tax updates on Regulations and Sales Tax, Audits: Dealing with the IRS, Updates on Accountant and Elder Care Accreditation and a presentation from SCORE on how to Grow a Small Practice.

The National Society of Accountants District III Governor Alfred C. Giovetti, CPA, ABA, ATA, ECS, performed the installation of officers for 2008-2010. The Officers include: President, William R. Silzer, ATP, First Vice President, Jannette M. Slowinski, ATP, Second Vice President, Bryan C. Thompson, CPA, Treasurer, Richard A. Hazel, ABA, EA, Secretary, Kathryn B. Lane, EA.  Board Members installed are: Richard Morris, CPA, Donna Fryling Teter, Charles M. Sweeney, Ralph E. Sutton.  Permanent Directors remaining on the board are: Robert Grille and Elizabeth W. Meredith, EA.  Serving as National Society of Accountants State Director is Fay I. Mirman and District III Governor is Alfred C. Giovetti, CPA, ABA, ATA, ECS.

Since 1948 the Society has dedicated itself to serving accounting, tax and financial practitioners. The Society fought hard for, and won, the right for unlicensed practitioners, in the state of Virginia, to call themselves “Accountants.”  The Virginia Supreme Court handed down this momentous decision on March 5, 1973 after several years of court action.