TRANSITIONS – Ashford named Junior League president


The Junior League of Northern Virginia has named as its new president Tamara W. Ashford of Alexandria. Ashford, who will serve a one-year term through May 2009, succeeds Emily Oehler.

“For more than 50 years, the Junior League has actively participated in developing programs and partnering with nonprofit, public and private sector organizations to help improve the lives of underserved families living in Northern Virginia,” Ashford said. “I look forward to working with our new board of directors, League members, and nonprofit, public and private sector partners to build upon our strong legacy of serving the community and establishing new outreach programs to positively impact more lives.”

This is Ashford’s ninth year as a member of the Junior League of Northern Virginia. She previously served as Treasurer/Finance Council director and Membership Council director, bringing significant board-level experience.

In addition, she has been Thrift Shop Treasurer, Provisional Advisor and chaired the Resource Development Committee. She is also a member of Leadership Arlington, class of 2008.

Ashford is employed as a senior advisor to the Commissioner of the Large and Mid-Size Business Division at the IRS and holds a Bachelor of Arts in public policy studies from Duke University, a Juris Doctor from Vanderbilt University and a Master of Laws in tax from the University of Miami. She has lived in Alexandria for 11 years.

In addition to Ashford, other Board members elected include:

Nene Spivy (Great Falls)–President-Elect M. Tracy Ault (Herndon)–Sustainer Representative Darlene Bakke (Arlington)–Community Council Director Kathy Boatwright (Falls Church)-Treasurer/Finance Council Director Teresa Demangos (Sterling)–Treasurer-Elect Tanya La Force (McLean)–Fund Development Council Director Beth Malara (Fairfax)–Nominating Committee Chair E. Jill Parlett (Arlington)–Planning Council Director Whitney Richardson (Herndon)–Communications Council Director MaryJo Robinson (Ashburn)–Parliamentarian Katharine Vaughn (Alexandria)–Secretary Ren Wilkinson (Vienna)–Membership Council Director