Sports shorts


Fifty-two area student-athletes garnered “All-Met” recognition by the Washington Post for their spring accomplishments.

Ireton senior pitcher Kevin O’Keefe and St. Stephens/St. Agnes junior pitcher Whit Mayberry – both “Honorable Mention”.

Ireton senior pitcher Kristin Kelleher and Hayfield senior catcher Kelsey Talbot – both “Honorable Mention”.

St. Stephens/St. Agnes senior “long stick middie” Briggs Davis – Second Team;  St. Stephens/St. Agnes senior midfielder Jason Neithamer and Ireton junior midfielder/defender Taylor O’Sullivan – both “Honorable Mention”.

 three St. Stephens/St. Agnes Lady Saints garnered First Team: senior attack Hadley Lankford, senior defender Annie Taylor and junior attack Kelly Austin, whereas two Lady Saints garnered Second-Team: senior defenders Kate Collins and Cassie Pyle.In addition, Ireton senior attack Julianne Tela also garnered Second-Team.

Five additional City of Alexandria student-athletes garnered “Honorable Mention”: St. Stephens/St. Agnes senior attack Erika Herrera and junior goalie Louise Fauth; Ireton senior defender Lauren Gray and junior attack Ashton Hellmuth and Episcopal senior defender Lindsey de Butts. The powerhouse St. Stephens/St. Agnes program is led by veteran head coach Kathy Jenkins.

T.C. Williams seniors Frank Afriyie (discus/shot put) and Tommy Clark (pole vault) – both First-Team and four student-athletes garnered “Honorable Mention”: T.C. Williams senior Brad Kenimer, Episcopal junior Allante Keels and Edison seniors Bernard Butler and Ademola Titcombe.

T.C. Williams junior Tynita Butts (sprints/jumps) – First-Team; and four student-athletes garnered “Honorable-Mention”: T.C. Williams senior Eva Baker, St. Stephens/St. Agnes junior Danielle Williams, Hayfield senior Jasmine Jones and West Potomac senior Katherine Lee.

Jefferson senior defender Will Beckman – First-Team; T.C. Williams junior forward Bryan Frank – Second-Team; in addition – six student-athletes garnered “Honorable-Mention”: T.C. Williams senior goalkeeper Christian Medrano and T.C. senior midfielder Ethan Cornello as well as Edison senior midfielder Trevor Beck, Edison freshman forward Andy Rodriguez, Mount Vernon senior midfielder Benjamin Okeyre and Jefferson senior goalkeeper Ariel Brown. (In addition, Jefferson veteran coach Sean Burke was selected as “Coach of the Year”).

Three student-athletes garnered “Honorable-Mention” recognition: Edison sophomore midfielder Molly Menchel, Mount Vernon senior forward Leslie Fajfar and West Potomac senior forward Stephanie Gerow.

Jefferson senior Chris Gear – First-Team; Jefferson senior Phil Grisdela and West Potomac junior Kiernan Merek – both received “Honorable-Mention.”

T.C. Williams senior Cara Donley and Jefferson senior Kelly Pierce – both First-Team; six student-athletes garnered “Honorable-Mention”: T.C. senior Catherine Draper, T.C. juniors Megan Epperson and Emily Jayne as well as Jefferson seniors Jordan Albright and Laura Williams as well as West Potomac senior Beth Ellis. (In addition, T.C. Williams veteran coach Steve Weir was selected as “Coach of the Year”).

Jefferson senior Caroline Grady received “Honorable-Mention” recognition.No one from Greater Alexandria made the “cut” regarding either boys tennis or girls tennis or golf

Regarding the just concluded high school baseball season, Bishop Ireton advanced to the ’08 WCAC Title Game in surprising fashion.

Ireton, coached by Mike Gallagher (first-season), defeated O’Connell on the road in the WCAC quarter-finals round 6-5, on a late home run by senior first baseman/pitcher Kevin O’Keefe.

In the WCAC semi-finals, Ireton shocked top-seeded Paul VI 3-2. Senior left fielder Darrin Gravallese laid down a near perfect late in the game which fueled the decisive surge against the Panthers.

The Cardinals dropped the Title Game to DeMatha 11-3 to finish as WCAC Runners-ups for the first time ever, and completed their season with a 13-13 overall record.

Gallagher was selected as WCAC “Coach of the Year” and junior second baseman Frankie Zare garnered “Second-Team” All-WCAC Recognition.

Regarding the Northern Region “First-Team” Baseball Honorees, only T.C. outfielder Pike Brynildson made the prestigious team – amongst the area schools.