Substance Abuse Org Elects First Officers

Substance Abuse Org Elects First Officers

The Substance Abuse Prevention Coalition of Alexandria (SAPCA) elected officers and its board of directors at a special meeting on November 18. The following members, who will serve two-year terms, represent seven sectors of the Alexandria community:


Allen Lomax, chair, independent consultant
Shelly Morgan, vice-chair, parent
Monique Edwards, treasurer, Alexandria Sheriffs Office
Chanel Smith, secretary, student, T.C. Williams High School

Board of Directors

Mary-Jane Atwater, Atwater Communications
Tricia Bassing, Alexandria Community Services Board
Amy Beal, parent
Andrew T. Denison, parent
Priscilla Harp, Alexandria Court Service Unit
William Johnson, captain, Alexandria Police Department
Gregory McIntosh, student, T.C. Williams High School

With our first board of directors now in place, we are ready to move forward to plan programs and activities that will reduce youth substance abuse in the City of Alexandria, said SAPCA chair Allen Lomax. One of our first priorities is to raise awareness about the extent of youth substance abuse in the city and the risk factors that contribute to our young peoples use of alcohol, marijuana and tobacco. We invite the entire community to work with us as we address this issue.

SAPCA is an alliance of more than 80 members representing parents, youth, schools, City of Alexandria health and recreation agencies, nonprofits, businesses, the media, faith communities, policymakers and law enforcement whose mission is to engage the entire community in reducing youth substance use and abuse in Alexandria. SAPCA was created in 2007 as part of the Partnership for a Healthier Alexandria (

Alexandria Mayor Bill Euille is SAPCAs honorary chair. SAPCA is a member of the Community Anti-Drug Coalitions of America (CADCA) and recently received a significant Drug Free Communities grant from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.