List of Candidates Set for School Board Election


With the May 5 election for Mayor, City Council and School Board now less than two months away, the list of candidates for the school board election is now available on the Virginia State Board of Elections (VSBE) website.

The following list of candidates comes from VSBE (incumbents marked with *):
District A
W.E. Bill Campbell
Mary Mein Mimi Carter
Sheryl K. Gorsuch*
Helen F. Morris
Scott A. Newsham*
District B
Yvonne A. Folkerts*
Janice Lee Howard
Arthur E. Peabody Jr.*
Marc Williams*
District C
Ronnie M. Campbell*
Blanche D. Maness*
Charles H. Wilson*

Eight of the nine current school board members are pursuing reelection in May, with Eileen Cassidy Rivera of District A (East End) the lone exception. All of the candidates are vying for election to a three-year term. The Board selects its own Chairman and Vice Chairman at the start of each fiscal year (July 1)

According to the Alexandria City Public Schools (ACPS) website, the School Board adopts policy for the daily operation of schools and sees that school laws are properly explained, enforced and observed. Board members come from three separate voting districts.