Five Sheriffs Awarded Valor Medals

Five Sheriffs Awarded Valor Medals

Five members of the Alexandria Sheriffs Office were honored last Thursday for heroism by the Alexandria Chamber of Commerce.

The life-saving honors were presented at the Chambers 23rd annual Public Safety Valor Awards program at the Hilton Alexandria Mark Center Hotel. NBC 4 correspondent Jane Watrel served as host and narrator.    

The Life Saving Awards are given in recognition of official acts taken in life-threatening situations where an individuals life is in jeopardy, either medically or physically.

Sheriffs Deputies Christopher ODell and Scott Petrini each received their second Life Saving Award from the Chamber. Petrini had been honored in 2005 and ODell was cited in 1997 for earlier Life Saving events.

Other Deputies receiving Life Saving Awards were Larry Richardson, Ricky Hart Jr., and Gerald Resseguie.

Deborah Johnson, senior external affairs manager with Dominion Virginia Power, chaired the Valor Awards committee. Presiding during the program was Cathy Puskar, the chambers chair. Christine Candio, chief executive officer of Inova Alexandria Hospital also appeared on the program.

A combined Honor Guard from the Sheriffs Office and Police and Fire Departments presented the colors.

Deputy Sheriff Todd Stubblefield gave the invocation:

The Bronze Medal is awarded in situations where, during the course of an emergency and at personal risk, a public safety official demonstrates judgment and ingenuity in the performance of their duty.
The Silver Medal is the second highest award for valor and heroism.
The Gold Medal is the highest award for valor and heroism. There we no recipients of the Gold for 2008.
Sheriff Dana Lawhorne presented the honors to Sheriffs recipients.