Sportsmans Club Awards


The Alexandria Sportsmans Club held their 54th annual awards banquet May 20 at the Hilton Mark Center, celebrating the athletic exploits of Alexandria high school students in their respective sports. The club named Bishop Ireton Athletic Director William Simmons the 2009 Sportsman of the Year and announced the player of the year in each sport in addition to its scholarship winners.

Episcopal High School boys soccer coach Rick Wilcox was named the 2009 Coach of the Year after leading his team to a 23-0 record and the Virginia state championship.

The sport-by-sport winners were: Reid Nickle (E.H.S.), cross-country; Adam Stow (E.H.S.), golf; Ashley Hunter (St. Stephens and St. Agnes), field hockey; Evan King (E.H.S.), football; Kevin Otto (Bishop Ireton), ice hockey; Tierra Ruffin-Pratt (T.C. Williams), girls basketball; Edward Jenkins (T.C.), boys basketball; Elliott Mondragon (B.I.), wrestling; Theresa Dalmut (B.I.), volleyball; Jessie Coffield (S.S.S.A.), girls lacrosse; Andrew Cordia (S.S.S.A.), boys lacrosse; Monica Zakaria (B.I.), girls tennis; Michael Parente (B.I.), boys tennis; John Robertson (B.I.), baseball; Mary Wells Ball (T.C.), girls crew; Matt Schilling (T.C.), boys crew; Mackenzie Soniak (B.I.), girls swimming; Larry Dow (T.C.), boys swimming; Tynita Butts (T.C.), girls track; Allante Keels (E.H.S.), boys track; Taylor Heasley (S.S.S.A.), softball; and Given Kalipinde (E.H.S.), soccer.
This years recipients of the clubs four $2,500 scholarships were Zachary Goehler (T.C.), Sakhile Yao Sithole (E.H.S.), Canning C. CK Kraft III (B.I.) and Danielle Thomas (T.C.)