Two New Members To Join School Board Monday


When the 2008-2009 school year comes to a close after the graduation festivities this Thursday at T.C. Williams, ACPS leadership will be looking ahead once again as a new School Board takes office Monday.

The installation ceremony on Monday at 5 p.m. in the auditorium of the Minnie Howard Campus of T.C. Williams will mark the beginning of the three-year term to which the new Board members were voted in the May election.

The new nine-member board, selected from across three voting districts, includes new members Mimi Carter and Helen Morris, as well as incumbent Sheryl Gorsuch from District A; current members Yvonne A. Folkerts, Arthur E. Peabody Jr. and Marc Williams representing District B; and incumbents Ronnie Campbell, Blanche D. Maness and Charles H. Wilson out of District C.

Current Board members Scott Newsham and Eileen Cassidy Rivera, both representing District A over the last three years, will not be returning to the Board. Rivera opted not to run again and Newsham ended fourth in a tight District A race, his bid for reelection falling just short.

The School Board adopts policy for the daily operation of schools and ensures that school laws are properly explained, enforced and observed. The board will select a chairman and vice chairman at its organizational meeting on July 1, the start of the 2010 fiscal year.