Obama signs Virginia disaster declaration


President Barack Obama declared Tuesday that a major disaster exists in the Commonwealth of Virginia and ordered federal aid to supplement local and state recovery efforts in the areas struck by severe winter storms December 18 to 20, 2009.

Federal funding is available to the state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the storms for the independent cities of Alexandria, Charlottesville, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, Manassas Park, Norton, Staunton and Waynesboro.

In addition, assistance is available to eligible local governments on a cost-sharing basis for emergency protective measures, including snow assistance, for a continuous 48-hour period during or proximate to the incident period.