Electoral Board reorganizes


At a special meeting last week, the Alexandria Electoral Board elected Donald E. Ledwig as secretary, Peter Newbould as chairman and appointed Bruce A. Brown as vice chairman. 

The Alexandria Electoral Board elections came as a result of the resignation of former secretary Anna Leider. 

Ledwig, a 10-year veteran of the board, served as secretary from 2001 through 2003. According to Virginia law, the secretary is the senior member of local electoral boards. Ledwig is currently president of the Virginia Electoral Board Association. 

Brown was appointed on July 23 by the Alexandria Circuit Court to complete Leiders term. Leider left the board to accept appointment as deputy registrar, replacing Ginny Franco who is retiring.   

The Alexandria Electoral Board is a bipartisan group appointed to govern the conduct of federal, state and local elections.