School board members vote Gorsuch new chair


After serving as the Alexandria School Board vice chairwoman for two school years, Sheryl Gorsuch will take the reins from chair Yvonne Folkerts for the 2011-12 school year. 
I will do my best to engage all members and all points of view as we work together to work on initiatives that we all care deeply about, Gorsuch said in a statement. It is a tribute to [the board] that we all have a strong belief that all children can be successful.
Gorsuch, who joined the board in 2003, was elected as chairwoman in the final of seven voting rounds among board members. Fellow board members Ronnie Campbell, Mimi Carter, Blanche Maness and Charles Wilson supported her bid in the annual election. 
With the backing of Folkerts, Arthur Peabody and Marc Williams, Helen Morris will take over as board vice chairwoman. This is her first term on the board.
School board members have the option of shuffling their positions before each new academic year.