Senior Corner: Honoring those who make a difference with older Alexandrians

Senior Corner: Honoring those who make a difference with older Alexandrians

By Bob Eiffert

Each year since 1990, the Alexandria Commission on Aging’s Excellence in Aging Awards program has honored individuals and organizations that have demonstrated superior contributions in advancing issues and projects that favorably impact older Alexandrians. The commission is now accepting nominations for the 2016 awards, which will be presented on Tuesday, May 10, 2016. Nominations are due by April 1. Awards are presented in four categories:

The Annie B. Rose Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes an individual whose exemplary achievements span a lifetime of public service, and whose achievements have been devoted to significantly enhancing the community, especially to advancing social justice and aging concerns for all residents. The award honors the superior example of Annie B. Rose for her lifetime of outstanding service in Alexandria. Recent awardees have included John Freeman, Dick Moose, Bill Harris, JoAnn Miller, Arlene Hewitt and Virginia Hahn.

The Lois Van Valkenburgh Excellence in Aging Award recognizes someone who has made outstanding contributions to elevating the quality of life for older adults in Alexandria within the past year. This award is in honor of Lois Van Valkenburgh, a longtime Alexandria resident, community leader and past chairwoman of the Alexandria Commission on Aging. Van Valkenburgh was a tireless advocate of and expert in issues related to aging. Her strong spirit, steadfast dedication and strong network helped to make Alexandria a better place to
live for its oldest citizens. Recent awardees have included Dr. Dan Kulund, David Baker, Amber Ken Dewey, Glenn White and Donald Templeman.

The Excellence in Aging Award for an Organization recognizes an organization that has made outstanding contributions to elevating the quality of life of older Alexandrians. Recent honorees have included the Ronald M. Bradley Foundation, Adult Companion Care, Inc., the Rotary Club of Alexandria, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Zeta Chi Omega Chapter, Goodwin House Alexandria/Goodwin House Foundation, the Senior Ministry of Shiloh Baptist Church, and Rebuilding Together Alexandria.

The Public Service Award recognizes a city employee who has advanced, improved or otherwise contributed to making Alexandria a more livable community for all ages during the course of their job. Recent awardees have included Terah Chamberlin, MaryAnn Griffin and Shane Cochran.

Nominations are open now and are due on April 1, 2016. The nomination package is available on the city’s website at — look in the Highlights section. You also can contact Debbie Ludington at 703-746-5694 or The awards will be presented at 6 p.m. on May 10 in the Vola Lawson Lobby of City Hall at 301 King St.

The Alexandria Commission on Aging is a 21-member citizen body appointed by city council to advocate on behalf of older Alexandrians.

The writer is a member of the Alexandria Commission on Aging.