ACPS honors athletes at 2019 Athletic Hall of Fame induction ceremony


By Cody Mello-Klein |

Alexandria City Public Schools inducted notable athletes, coaches and athletic staff into the Athletic Hall of Fame at a ceremony on Oct. 4, according to an ACPS news release.

The ceremony, which marked the sixth hall of fame induction since the hall of fame launched in 2014, welcomed Alexandria athletes from 1957 to 2007 into the hall of fame.

Among this year’s inductees were Julius Campbell, captain of the 1971 T.C. Williams High School football team that won a state championship the year the school integrated.

The 1957 Parker-Gray School boys basketball team was also honored for its contribution to the civil rights movement.

Other inductees were Walter Densmore, basketball, class of 1957; Tanya Galloway-White, track and field, class of 1988; Rick Garcia, track and field, class of 1979; Cavanaugh Hagen, basketball, class of 2001; Frank Holloway, basketball, class of 1977; Samella Koroma, track and field, class of 2007; Arnold Thurmond, basketball coach; and Glenn Williams, basketball and football, class of 1984.